Imagine for a moment, as you walk through the 100-metre-long pedestrian tunnel of Besso, that you can observe what is happening inside an artificial brain. “NeuralRope#1” reproduces in three dimensions a large neuronal network, where the LED screens represent neurons and where ropes that connect them evoke axons and synapses, which propagate the nerve impulses between one neuron and another.

The kinship between artistic work and scientific research offers the possibility of better understanding what artificial intelligence is: scientist Luca Maria Gambardella and visual artist Alex Dorici together have created “NeuralRope#1”, in a joint effort with Lugano Living Lab and to mark the thirtieth anniversary of the Dalle Molle Institute for Artificial Intelligence (USI-SUPSI). “NeuralRope#1” is an interactive and permanent work. It is in continuous evolution: during the day it thinks and observes passers-by and at night it dreams and processes what it has seen, because “NeuralRope#1” learns from us to interpret autonomously the reality that surrounds it.

Artificial neuronal networks
The Human brain consists of billions of neurons that communicate with each other through nerve impulses propagated by axons and synapses. During our lives, synapses change, allowing us to learn, perceive the world, reason and have feelings.

The artificial neuronal network (NN) - made up of layers of interconnected neurons - digitally reproduces some of the functions of our brain and is able to learn concepts from examples. In the interactive work “NeuralRope#1. Inside an Artificial Brain” we teach an NN to distinguish forms of two kinds: triangles and squares from hand gestures. The network, initially trained in the laboratory, acquires new images by observing passers-by through the camera positioned at the beginning of the tunnel.

While learning, the NN processes the information and modifies its axons and synapses accordingly. Afterwards, the NN will show on monitors at the exit of the tunnel whether a triangle or a square is represented in the perceived image. Therefore, the NN will have observed, reasoned and learned.

Read more

Author #1

Alex Dorici
Visual artist, born in Lugano in 1979. After graduating in painting and engraving, he enhanced his artistic training in Paris, from 2005 to 2010. Back to Lugano in 2010, he devoted himself to artistic installations in urban space. His site-specific artworks use materials such as ropes, tiles, tubes and adhesive tape to alter the perception of daily life places. Since 2006, he has exhibited his works in museums and galleries, both in Switzerland and abroad.

Author #2

Luca Maria Gambardella
The scientist Luca Maria Gambardella was born in Saronno in 1962. He lives and works in Ticino. He obtained a degree and a PhD in Computer Science, developing a strong interest in artificial intelligence. He studies the ability of machines to learn and how robots can be autonomous. He is director of the Dalle Molle Institute for Artificial Intelligence (USI-SUPSI). In addition to scientific research, he dedicates himself to art with passion: he paints, makes sculptures and writes novels.

L*3
IDSIA was founded in Lugano in 1988 by Angelo Dalle Molle (1908-2002), an Italian philanthropist and inventor of the bitter liqueur Cynar. Since 2000 it has been a joint institute between SUPSI - Department of Innovative Technologies and USI. It employs 75 people including professors, researchers and PhD students. It deals with fundamental research, applied research and teaching in the areas of machine learning and robotics. Among the institute’s successes are the Ant Colony method for transport optimisation inspired by ants colonies and the LSTM deep learning method, used in millions of applications by companies such as Apple, Google, Microsoft, Amazon. IDSIA won the NVIDIA Pioneers of AI Research award and the Swiss Special ICT award for the impact of its research on Swiss economy

logo lll

IDSIA (USI-SUPSI)
L*3 - Lugano Living Lab is integral part of the strategic vision of the City of Lugano that has identified innovation among its principles and values. L*3 proposes itself as a platform that aims to foster innovation and interaction between the local actors active in the public, academic and economic fields, with a network dynamic and an open and co-creative approach. The platform represents a point of reference in promoting innovation, testing and implementing new technologies in a systematic way and under real conditions. The final objective is to improve the quality of life and competitiveness of the city through the implementation of projects and concrete initiatives in the context of an urban real-life laboratory, while encouraging urban and regional development.

logo supsi usi

Acknowledgments

Igor Bellotto, Robert Bregy, Elena Buchmann, Claudio Chiapparino, Luigi Maria Di Corato, Mario Fontana, Patrick Wagner, Mauro Soldati e tutta la squadra tecnica della Città di Lugano.

Credits

Text by Ada Cattaneo
Software: Gabriele Abbate e Alessandro Giusti
Video NeuralRope#1: Sacha De Nardo
Web design:Leonardo Angelucci
Print design: Gregorio Cascio

neuralrope
#1
Inside an Artificial Brain
Interactive and permanent installation
of
Alex Dorici
and
Luca Maria Gambardella
Tunnel di Besso, Lugano
from 2 September 2019

Stellen Sie sich für einen Moment vor, wenn Sie durch den 100 Meter langen Fußgängertunnel von Besso gehen, was in einem künstlichen Gehirn passiert. “NeuralRope#1” reproduziert dreidimensional ein großes neuronales Netzwerk: die Bildschirme vor Ihnen symbolisieren die Neuronen, während ihre Verbindungen Axone und Synapsen darstellen, auf denen sich Nervenimpulse zwischen einem Neuron und einem anderen ausbreiten.

Das Zusammenspiel von künstlerischer Arbeit und wissenschaftlicher Forschung eröffnet die Möglichkeit, den Begriff der künstlichen Intelligenz besser zu verstehen: Der Wissenschaftler Luca Maria Gambardella und der Künstler Alex Dorici haben zusammen mit dem Lugano Living Lab gemeinsam “NeuralRope#1” geschaffen, um den Anlass des dreißigjährigen Bestehens des Dalle Molle Institute for Artificial Intelligence (USI-SUPSI) zu feiern. Wer die Möglichkeit hat, einige Minuten seiner Zeit dieser Reise zu widmen, kann lernen, mit “NeuralRope#1” zu interagieren. Auf den folgenden Paneelen finden Sie Informationen dazu. Die Arbeit entwickelt sich ständig weiter: Tagsüber denkt und beobachtet sie Passanten, und nachts träumt und schreitet sie auf der Grundlage des Gesehenen voran, denn “NeuralRope#1” lernt von uns, die sie umgebende Realität autonom zu interpretieren.

Künstliche neuronale Netze
Das menschliche Gehirn besteht aus Milliarden von Neuronen, die über Nervenimpulse, die von Axonen und Synapsen übertragen werden, miteinander kommunizieren. Während unseres Lebens verändern sich die Synapsen, so dass wir lernen, die Welt wahrnehmen, Vernunft walten zu lassen, und Gefühle zu haben.

Künstliche Neuronale Netzwerke (NN) - bestehend aus Schichten von miteinander verbundenen Neuronen - reproduzieren digital einen Teil der Funktionen unseres Gehirns und sind in der Lage, autonom Konzepte aus Beispielen zu lernen. In der interaktiven Arbeit “NeuralRope#1. Inside an Artificial Brain” lernt ein NN, Formen aus zwei Kategorien zu unterscheiden: Dreiecke und Quadrate aus den Gesten der Hand. Das zunächst im Labor vorbereitete Netzwerk gewinnt neue Bilder, indem es Passanten durch eine am Anfang des Tunnels angebrachte Kamera beobachtet.

Beim Lernen verarbeitet das NN die Informationen und modifiziert seine Axone und Synapsen entsprechend. Anschließend kann das NN auf den Monitoren am Ausgang des Tunnels anzeigen, ob ein Dreieck oder ein Quadrat im wahrgenommenen Bild dargestellt wird. NN hat daher beobachtet, nachgedacht, und gelernt.

Weiterlesen

Auteur #1

Alex Dorici
Bildender Künstler, geboren 1979 in Lugano. Nach seinem Abschluss in Malerei und Gravur vertieft er von 2005 bis 2010 seine künstlerische Ausbildung in Paris. Im Jahr 2010 kehrt er nach Lugano zurück und widmet sich Interventionen im urbanen Raum. Seine ortsspezifischen Installationen verändern mit Materialien wie Seilen, Fliesen, Rohren und Klebeband die gewohnte Wahrnehmung der Orte des täglichen Lebens. Seit 2006 stellt er seine Werke in Museen und Galerien im In- und Ausland aus.

Auteur #2

Luca Maria Gambardella
Der 1962 in Saronno geborene Wissenschaftler Luca Maria Gambardella lebt und arbeitet im Tessin. Während Abschluss und Promotion in Informatik entwickelt er ein starkes Interesse an künstlicher Intelligenz. Als Direktor des Dalle Molle Institute for Artificial Intelligence (USI-SUPSI) untersucht er die Lernfähigkeit von Maschinen und forscht an der Autonomie von Robotern. Neben der wissenschaftlichen Forschung widmet er sich mit Leidenschaft der Kunst: Er malt, realisiert Skulpturen und schreibt Romane.

L*3
L*3 - Lugano Living Lab ist das integrale Teil der strategischen Vision der Stadt Lugano, die Innovation als ihre Grundsätze und Werte identifiziert. L*3 dient als Plattform zur Förderung von Innovation und Interaktion der im öffentlichen, akademischen und wirtschaftlichen Bereich tätigen Lebenskräfte mit einer Netzwerkdynamik und einem offenen und kokreativen Ansatz. Die Plattform ist ein Bezugspunkt für die Förderung von Innovationen, das Testen und Implementieren neuer Technologien, systematisch und unter realen Bedingungen. Das Endziel besteht darin, die Lebensqualität und die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit der Stadt durch die Durchführung der geeigneten Projekte und konkreter Initiativen im Rahmen eines städtischen Labors und im Kontext des realen Lebens zu verbessern und gleichzeitig die Stadt- und Regionalentwicklung zu fördern.

logo lll

IDSIA (USI-SUPSI)
Das IDSIA wurde 1988 in Lugano vom italienischen Philanthropen Angelo Dalle Molle (1908-2002) gegründet, bekannt als Erfinder des Likörs Cynar. Seit 2000 ist es ein gemeinsames Institut der SUPSI, Department of Innovative Technologies und der USI. Es beschäftigt 75 Mitarbeiter, darunter Professoren, Forscher und Doktoranden. Seine Arbeitsfelder sind Grundlagenforschung, angewandte Forschung und Lehre im maschinellen Lernen und in der Robotik. Zu den Erfolgen des Instituts gehören die von Ameisenkolonien inspirierte Ant Colony Methode zur Optimierung des Transports, und das machinelle Lernen mittels LSTM, das in Millionen von Anwendungen von Unternehmen wie Apple, Google, Microsoft und Amazon eingesetzt wird. IDSIA ist Empfänger des NVIDIA Pioneers of AI Research Award und des Swiss Special ICT Awards für die Auswirkungen seiner Forschung auf die Schweizer Wirtschaft.

logo supsi usi

Danksagung

Igor Bellotto, Robert Bregy, Elena Buchmann, Claudio Chiapparino, Luigi Maria Di Corato, Mario Fontana, Patrick Wagner, Mauro Soldati e tutta la squadra tecnica della Città di Lugano

Credits

Text by Ada Cattaneo
Software: Gabriele Abbate e Alessandro Giusti
Video NeuralRope#1: Sacha De Nardo
Web design:Leonardo Angelucci
Print design: Gregorio Cascio

neuralrope
#1
Inside an Artificial Brain
Interaktive und permanente Installation
von
Alex Dorici
und
Luca Maria Gambardella
Tunnel di Besso, Lugano
ab dem 2. September 2019